Join us for our presentation of the Sharelle McMahon Medal!

Buy Tickets

🏅 Join us for our presentation of the Sharelle McMahon Medal! Buy Tickets

2020 Quad Series + Constellation Cup update

Generic Diamonds image
4 years ago

The Origin Australian Diamonds are set to take on the New Zealand Silver Ferns in the 2020 Constellation Cup later this year.

Officials at Netball Australia and Netball New Zealand have committed to the annual four-match test series towards the end of 2020, following the completion of the two nations’ domestic leagues and pending travel allowances across the Tasman.

This news comes as the 2020 Quad Series, scheduled to be played between Australia, New Zealand England and South Africa in September, has been cancelled due to the impact of COVID-19 on international travel.

Following extensive discussions and scenario planning between all participating nations, the decision was made to cancel the scheduled Quad Series which was set to be played in several cities across Australia and New Zealand.

While it is unlikely there will be an opportunity for the Origin Australian Diamonds to play test matches against England or South Africa in 2020, Australia and New Zealand are hopeful of taking to the court later in the year.

Netball Australia Executive General Manager of Performance Stacey West said all four nations are disappointed to not be playing the Quad Series, but the Origin Diamonds are buoyed the possibility of playing the Constellation Cup.

“With great disappointment, and after much deliberation and possible scenario planning, all four participating nations agreed that cancelling the 2020 Quad Series scheduled for September was the most viable option,” she said.

“It’s a significant blow to our Diamonds program, we won’t have an opportunity to play against the Roses and Proteas this year, however, we’re hopeful that our team will make it onto the court for the Constellation Cup with the Silver Ferns later this year, depending on how the COVID-19 situation evolves in the coming months.”

Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and England are committed to meeting regularly as the COVID-19 situation progresses to determine when and how the four nations will be able to schedule the next Quad Series.

More news

My items

Item added to favourites