Round 11: Vixens vs Swifts

Match Day Guide

🦊 Round 11: Vixens vs Swifts Match Day Guide

History of Sargeant-McKinnis Cup

Sargeant Mc Kinnis Cup
2 years ago

The Sargeant-McKinnis Cup has returned to Victorian soil after we secured a hard-fought win against NSW Swifts on Saturday night at John Cain Arena.

Named after Victorian great and Vixens head coach, Simone McKinnis, and former NSW Swifts shooter and current Australian Diamonds selector Anne Sargeant, the Sargeant-McKinnis Cup was introduced in 2008 in the National Netball League.

The interstate rivalry has long been engrained between the two sides, two-time championship-winning coach McKinnis making it clear that while the Cup holds huge significance, the win and state rivalry trumps the naming rights.

“It is all about the Vic and New South Wales rivalry,” McKinnis said.

“I know it’s the Sargeant-McKinnis Cup, but it is about that old traditional rivalry that we’ve had with the Swifts. It’s nice, I’d rather have the Cup than not have it, but obviously the win is the most important part of it.”

The trophy has regularly changed hands over the past five years with the Swifts taking home the silverware in 2021, after we held it in our championship-winning year in 2020. This year’s win helps to even out the overall ledger with the Swifts monopolising the Sargeant-McKinnis Cup in the first 10 years, walking away with seven of a possible 10 wins.

In McKinnis’ tenth year as Vixens coach the win also adds a little more value, co-captain Kate Moloney highlighting the impact her coach has had on the club.

“She has so much belief in her playing group, so much care for every single player, and we’re just really lucky to have her,” she said.

Sargeant-McKinnis Cup History

2022 – Vixens win

2021 – Swifts win

2020 – Vixens win

2019 – Swifts win

2018- Vixens win

2017 – Vixens win

2016 – Swifts win

2015 – Swifts win

2014 – Vixens win

2013- Swifts win

2012 – Swifts win

2011 – Swifts win

2010 – Swifts win

2009 – Vixens win

2008 – Swifts win

Get your tickets to our Round 11 clash against Sunshine Coast Lightning Sunday, 29 May at 2pm at John Cain Arena on Wurundjeri Country.

More news

My items

Item added to favourites