Bailey and Mentor winners of the 2015 Sharelle McMahon Medal

SMM winners
8 years ago

Geva Mentor and Karyn Bailey have been named joint winners of the 2015 Sharelle McMahon Medal at the RACV Club in Melbourne tonight.

Mentor, 30, has been a consistent performer for the Vixens since moving to the club in 2011 winning the Most Valuable Player award on three separate occasions, in 2012, 2014 and 2015, whilst also being the runner-up in 2013.
The English international played through the 2015 season with a niggling knee injury but showed her class with her reliable defence for the Melbourne side.
The first individual accolade for Bailey, 28, after a season in which she was critical to pulling the Vixens young attacking lineup into gear, shooting 384 goals from 444 attempts at 86.5%.
Tied at 39 votes, the goal keeper and goal shooter were the first ever joint recipients of the Sharelle McMahon Medal.
Tegan Philip and Madi Robinson were joint runners up on 35 votes each, an incredible achievement for Robinson given she missed the second half of the season due to injury.
Retiring captain Bianca Chatfield received the Team Spirit Award and the Excellence in Sport and Life Award for her contribution in 2015. A stalwart of the game, Chatfield retired from netball with 111 ANZ Championship appearances over eight seasons, with 133 games also to her name played with the Melbourne Phoenix.

More news

My items

Item added to favourites