2018 Training partner announcement

1 year ago

Melbourne Vixens and Netball Victoria are pleased to announce Lara Dunkley, Tayla Honey, Jacqui Newton and Rahni Samason as Vixens Training Partners for 2018.

Clubs are required to nominate a minimum of four athletes as Training Partners, with those four athletes protected as Temporary Replacement athletes.

All four athletes selected have been a part of the Melbourne Vixens program previously or Netball Victoria’s underpinning High Performance Pathway teams.

Vixens Head Coach Simone McKinnis OAM is excited by the potential of the group.

“I am really excited, we have some of Victoria’s best young talent here and it is a great opportunity for them - obviously it is the first time for Rahni, Lara and Jacqui as training partners, so it will be great for them to join Tayla Honey,” said McKinnis.

Netball Victoria’s wealth of talent meant that the final decisions were tough, with all four athletes participating in last year’s Victorian Fury side.

McKinnis noted that the athletes were each selected based on what they could bring to the Melbourne Vixens training environment, and how the Vixens daily training environment could assist with their long-term development.

In addition to their training commitments with the Vixens, the training partners will represent Victorian Fury in the Australian Netball League (ANL).

2018 Training Partners

Rahni Samason (GA, GS) – Victorian Fury team (2017), 19/U National Champion - Vice Captain (2017), 2017 VNL – Wilson Storage Southern Saints, National 19/U Squad (2016/2017), National 17/U Squad (2015).

Tayla Honey (WA, C) – Vixens Training Partner (2017), Victorian Fury (2017), VNL – Geelong Cougars (2017), National 21U Squad (2017).

Lara Dunkley (C, WD, WA) – Victorian Fury (2015-2017), VNL – Boroondara Express (2017), Victorian Flames (2014).

Jacqui Newton (GK, GD) – Victorian Fury Training Partner (2017), VNL – City West Falcons (2017), 19/U State Team (2015/2016), 17/U State team (2014), National 19/U Squad (2015/16), National 17/U Squad (2014).

More news